Oklahoma Cannabis Licensing

Oklahoma is a small state with huge potential when it comes to legal cannabis.

Oklahoma Cannabis Consulting

Gateway Proven Strategies (GPS) provides cannabis consulting in Oklahoma for new and established businesses. GPS helps clients with professional and industry-specific services in the cannabis industry. Oklahoma’s cannabis regulations will soon reach its full maturity, but for now, many new opportunities continue to present themselves in the state’s cannabis and hemp market. GPS is committed to providing clients with sustainable, dependable outcomes for the longevity and success of their cannabis business in Oklahoma.

Industrial Hemp Licensing in Oklahoma

In 2018, the Oklahoma legislature passed the Oklahoma Industrial Hemp Agricultural Pilot Program (OIHAPP). Separate from medical marijuana, industrial hemp (cannabis containing less than .3% THC) is regulated by the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture Food and Forestry. The program is focused on research, and licenses are awarded to public or private colleges and universities. These universities are allowed to subcontract some of the hemp growing work with appropriate approval.

Marijuana License Changes in Oklahoma

On August 30, 2019 Oklahoma made medical marijuana transporter licenses available for individuals and stand-alone marijuana transportation businesses. This new suite of regulations included updated compliance and state reporting requirements, depending on business types and structure. Regulation changes like this can happen quickly, so it is important to have a long-term strategy in place in the event of significant shifts in compliance.

Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Business License

Entry into the medical marijuana industry in Oklahoma is relatively easy compared to states like California or Florida. Application fees for growers, dispensaries, and processors remain relatively low with initial commercial application fees of $2,500. In the event an application is rejected, the state allows 30 days for applicants to submit corrections to the required information before the application expires. Ideally, prepared applicants will successfully apply the first time, but this type of forgiveness could help new and smaller businesses struggling with the process.

Extremely detailed applications, as well as background checks for owners, are required to apply. Applicants must meet residency requirements and have 75% of owners living in the state for either the last 2 consecutive years or 5 of the last 25 years. This structure does not restrict out-of-state operators and investors from entering the state’s market, but certainly requires effective local networking and communications for such a partnership to exist. Businesses must also prove they comply with the requirements of local jurisdictions.